Connect with us


FG Shares Cash To Anambra, Nasarawa And Katsina State Residents


The Conditional Cash Transfer (CCT) to the most indigent and vulnerable in the country by the Ministry of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, has entered its second day, with a simultaneous roll-out in Anambra, Katsina and Nasarawa states.

The rollout of the payments is coming on the heels of Wednesday’s exercise in Kwali Area Council of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) where 5000 registered beneficiaries were paid. The Minister of Humanitarian Affairs, Disaster Management and Social Development, Sadiya Umar Farouq, had earlier approved the cash transfers to beneficiaries in the country.

A statement by the media aide to the Minister, Salisu Na’inna Dambatta, said the CCT payments to the poorest and most vulnerable households took place last Friday, April 3, 2020 in Anambra State, South Eastern Nigeria at Anyamelum LGA (Wards Anaku 1 & 2; Omor 1 & 2; Umerum Umumbo; Igbakwu; Ifite Ogwari 1 & 2; Umueje and Omasi).

Dambatta said similar payments to more beneficiaries of the programme were carried out in three centers of Wamba East, Wayo and Nakere in Nasarawa State, North Central Nigeria. Also, payments were made in 11 of the 34 local government areas of Katsina State, according to the statement.

It added that: “The local government areas are Bakori, Bindawa, Baure, Batagarawa, Dandume and Ingawa. Others are Kaita, Mani, Musawa, Rimi and Kankara.”

The Minister had explained at the rollout of the payments in Kwali on Wednesday that the payment was part of the immediate palliatives promised by President Muhammadu Buhari to cushion the effect of the partial lockdown of the country as parts of the measures to contain the Covid-19 pandemic. The FG is giving out 20,000 to each of them to cover four months, January to April.