Connect with us

Foreign News

Travel Ban Extended For 15 days


The Turkish government has extended the travel ban in 15 major cities for another 15 days due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Turkey’s Interior Ministry announced this in a statement on Tuesday.

The travel ban will continue till June 3 and those who are caught disobeying the restrictions will be subject to administrative fines.

The cities with restrictions include Istanbul, Ankara, Izmir, Balikesir, Bursa, Eskisehir, Gaziantep, Kayseri, Kocaeli, Konya, Manisa, Sakarya, Samsun, Van and Zonguldak.

This ban covers air, land, and sea travel to and from these cities.
In April, Turkey imposed the first travel ban across 31 provinces to curb the spread of the coronavirus.

As of Tuesday, Turkey has a total of 151,615 COVID-19 cases and 4,199 deaths recorded.