Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

Foreign News

European Union Set To Ban Travellers From All Foreign Nations

The European Union has revealed plans to ban all non-essential travel from all outsiders for a month after Europe emerged as the center for “coronavirus epicentre.”

Ursula von der Leyen, the president of the European Commission proposed a ban on foreign travel into all of the EU, meaning all travel would be restricted into the 26-nation Schengen free travel area for 30 days.

The 26 Schengen countries are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Ms von der Leyen told a press conference: ‘The UK citizens are European citizens so of course there are no restrictions for the UK citizens to travel to the continent.’

She added: ‘Here in Europe we are heavily affected by coronavirus and we know that everything that reduces social interaction also reduces the speed of the spread of the virus.

‘The less travel, the more we can contain the virus.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

‘Therefore, as I have just informed our G7 partners, I propose to the heads of state and governments, to introduce temporary restrictions on non-essential travel to the European Union.’

She said exemptions would include long-term EU residents, family members of EU nationals, diplomats, doctors and researchers working on containing the health crisis.

Doctors, nurses, care workers, and experts tackling the coronavirus pandemic would also be exempt, Ms von der Leyen said.

Globally, more than 174,000 people have contracted the deadly coronavirus around the world – and 6,000 people have died from the virus.

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


The European Commission developed a plan of action in support of African countries and other countries that required Ukrainian food grains. A “solidarity lanes”...

Foreign News

Moscow’s decision to cut supplies to key buyers has shattered illusion that it would not turn on its biggest customers Moscow has blamed the...

Foreign News

The Russia-Ukraine crisis and soaring energy prices have nearly halved the confidence of European business leaders in the first half of the year and...

Foreign News

The European Union has proposed to ban all oil imports from Russia by the end of the year and remove Russia’s biggest bank, Sberbank,...


Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.