Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?


Uganda Seizes Travellers Passports From Affected Countries… And Make Them Self Quarantine In Preferred Hotel

The Ugandan government on Saturday announced that it has started seizing passports of all travellers from countries with high coronavirus cases.

Minister of State for Primary Health Care Dr Joyce Moriku Kaducu in her tweet, said the decision was taken to prevent the spread of the pandemic that has wreaked havoc across the world.

She tweeted;

We have withheld all passports of travellers from category one countries until completion of the 14 days of mandatory quarantine. We hope this eliminates chances of escape from designated areas. I want to assure you that @MinofHealthUG is doing all it takes to keep #Uganda safe.

Uganda seizes passports of all travellers from countries with high coronavirus cases

Kaducu further revealed that Entebbe International Airport was peaceful and orderly on Saturday as travellers were following directives from the Health ministry officials regarding quarantines.

She added;

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

“A list of hotel options and telephone numbers have been provided before and on arrival to allow them choose their preferred institutions.”

Minister of Health, Dr Jane Ruth Aceng said that there were over 25 categories for several countries by Saturday March 22.

Aceng said;

“The category one countries are very fluid; they keep changing. We have criteria that we use to run the affected countries and every Wednesday, we run the countries and put out a list for those travelling. Today they are over 25 category one countries.

“Over 100 samples tested (for COVID-19). All are negative. Samples are run three times to be sure they are negative. Sometimes I ask my teams repeat again just to be sure. They have tested and reaffirmed they are negative.”

Advertisement. Scroll to continue reading.

Some of the countries in category one include Italy, France, South Korea, China, USA, UK, Netherlands, Switzerland, Sweden, Belgium, Germany, Spain, Norway, Austria, Malaysia, Pakistani, and San Marino.

As seen on Twitter;

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You May Also Like


Justice Binta Nyako of the Federal High Court Abuja, on Friday, struck out eight of the 15 terrorism and felony charges preferred by the...


Bayern Munich have confirmed unvaccinated star Joshua Kimmich will miss the remainder of 2021 after he was diagnosed with a lung problem following coronavirus...


Bayern Munich manager Julian Nagelsmann has tested positive for Coronavirus in Portugal after missing his side’s win over Benfica in the Champions League due...

Celebrity Gossip

Big brother naija alumni, Neo Akpofure solemnly announces the realism in covid-19, as he pens down his tribute to his late in-law who died...


Log In

Forgot password?

Forgot password?

Enter your account data and we will send you a link to reset your password.

Your password reset link appears to be invalid or expired.

Log in

Privacy Policy

Add to Collection

No Collections

Here you'll find all collections you've created before.